top of page
  • Writer's pictureKatherine Byers

High Moon

Updated: Mar 7, 2021


In High Moon, you play as a newly-turned vampire with little to no recollection of how you ended up bloody and face down on the floor of a cave. You have one goal: Make your way out of the cave and figure out what happened along the way. Get to it.



Text box

This prototype was themed around narrative development, and I actually took a step back from scripting this time around to focus on UI. I did a little bit of scripting to create an Audio Manager, but it was mostly creating a way for the other team members to work with the manager in editor, and for it to hold an array of different sound clips. I'm not even sure it was used in the end, as we had a wonderful audio focused person on the team who created his own way of handling the audio.



Original Version of button, no outline

On this project, I created the art for the panels, button, and name surrounds. I also found and used the "Young Heart" font by Alit Design on dafont.com for all the text. This proved to be a bit of a challenge because I do not own a tablet, nor am I really adept with art, so I had to create the UI art using my laptop's trackpad and Photoshop. I wanted to fit the UI to the overall theme of the game - the wild west. I created a few different types of panels, one that was ringed in barbed wire, one that was just barbed wire, one without the black outline, one without the blood splatter, and then of course the final versions. I have a small amount of experience with UI Art, but I wasn't sure how to go about creating the rustic vibe we wanted while staying away from some of the more cliche western theming. I wanted something that felt western, but also was able to add to the overall theming of the game.


Barbed wire framing (unused)

Here's an image of the UI in use! (No spoilers)

Final UI

In all, this project really challenged my artistic side and allowed me to explore a medium I only had a limited knowledge of. I enjoyed the challenge of trying to incorporate the UI into the overall theme - using the pink blood, outlining to match the characters, finding a good font that didn't look too cheesy. I would love to work more in creating and designing UI in the future, so look forward to seeing more of my UI work on the page!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page